OMG…YFWD = YO

I started the Bunting socks by Lisa Richardson in Rowan Fine Art hand painted sock yarn today. I love how this yarn knits up!! Combined with my  Knitter’s Pride Karbonz needles, this yarn practically knits itself….until I couldn’t make sense of the pattern directions.

Let me start at the beginning — like I did three times with this sock. First time, after 6 rounds on the needle, I realized that a size 1 needle wasn’t going to work. When I knit socks, I just start in and call the start a “maybe swatch, maybe sock” beginning. Well, I figured the size 0 called for wasn’t going to work because my usual socks in fingering yarn are about 72 to 84 cast on stitches on a size 1 or 2. This was 66 on a 1. Duh!

Second time, size 2 Karbonz, cast on 66, knit the first 7 rounds like a dream…then the pattern started. “Work in patt as folls: *Yfwd, sl, K1, psso, K4, rep * to end.” So I pull the working yarn forward between the needles, slip a stitch, put the yarn to the back between the needles, knit one stitch, pass slipped stitch over, knit 4 and repeated to the end of the round. So I had 11 less stitches than when I started. As I looked down through the pattern there was not an increase in sight! This was not going to work. So I tinked the round and royally screwed it all up!Frog!

Bunting Socks for KAL -  Start # 3
Bunting Socks for KAL –
Start # 3

Third time starting, I made it to the pattern and stopped. Sent panic texts to some fellow knitters. Checked all my basic knitting books to make sure I was doing all the stitches correctly, and then I googled psso (definitely a decrease) and  Yfwd — oh, oh. I found this blog article on YFWD and I was enlightened! It seems that the British use YFWD like the US uses YO; therefore, it is an increase. My second DUH! of the day! Rowan is a British company and the designer, Lisa Richardson is British. I quickly reread the pattern and, lo and behold! there is a YFWD for every PSSO in the damn thing!

So the third time is the charm and I’m now going to fix a cup of tea, put on some nice music and start knitting the pattern with this luscious yarn and awesome needles. Hopefully, I’ll end up with some awesome, luscious socks!

 

 

One thought on “OMG…YFWD = YO

Leave a Reply

