Whiskey, Tango, Foxtrot

Whiskey, Tango, Foxtrot. If I had a dollar for every time I said those words while working on sewing in the sleeves of my Ridge Stitch Pullover, I’d be a rich woman. This isn’t my first sweater. I’ve knit six sweaters before this one, but this sweater is the first one with set-in sleeves! Since I hadn’t done this before, I consulted several knitting reference books, but they talked mostly about easing in and pinning the sleeve to the body of the sweater. Then they said, “Sew in the sleeve.” Period! So I thought, “Whiskey, Tango, Foxtrot! I’ll just whip it in!”

Whiskey, Tango, Foxtrot! It looked so bad I didn’t even take a photo of the mess. So I consulted with my “Brain Trust,” AKA, the knit group. To the person they said,” Use the Mattress Stitch!” Well, Whiskey, Tango, Foxtrot! I thought that was just for flat seams. So I ripped out the whip stitches (no easy task) and pinned in the first sleeve again.

Whiskey, Tango, Foxtrot! I pinned the damn sleeve to the neckline — no wonder it didn’t fit! Finally, with pins in the right places, I threaded my needle to begin the Mattress Stitch.

Whiskey, Tango, Foxtrot! The stitches on one piece are vertical and on the other, horizontal! Now what do I do?? So I googled “knitting video sleeve sewing” and found umpteen million videos. I randomly picked a good one by Paton Yarns. I’ve never knit with their yarns, but their video was great! I watched it twice — two bars, one stitch — back and forth. So I started in with renewed energy!

Two Bars, One Stitch
Two Bars, One Stitch

Whiskey, Tango, Foxtrot! Where the hell did those two little bars go? Sometimes they’re hard to find!

Whiskey, Tango, Foxtrot! The next stitch in line disappeared into the decrease!

Whiskey, Tango, Foxtrot! My rough hangnail caught in the cotton yarn! Damn! The well-manicured woman in the video never had that problem! I think I’ll make an appointment for a manicure next week at Happy Nails!

Whiskey, Tango, Foxtrot! Just how much tension can you put on Cascade’s Ultra Pima when you “snug up” the stitches before it snaps?

 

Sleeve with Mattress Stitch
Sleeve with Mattress Stitch

DONE! Well, almost. Now I have to pick up 98 stitches at the neck edge and knit 4 rounds of K1,P1 ribbing…and weave in all those Foxtroting ends!  I just want this project to be DONE!

Neck Ribbing and End Weaving To Go!
Neck Ribbing and End Weaving To Go!

WTF, I think I’ll go knit a few rounds on my sock to calm down.

 

12 thoughts on “Whiskey, Tango, Foxtrot

    1. Thanks, Sarca. It took the entire morning to get it right, but I’m pleased with the result. I’m planning on visiting a yarn shop in Chilliwack, BC next week. I’ll look for some Paton’s yarn!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Oh, dear – what a pain! But I had to laugh because I was just telling someone about a friend in my high school home ec class who sewed the sleeve of her blouse into the neck.

    Like

Leave a Reply

